Beginning Hatha Yoga


This class is taught by:

Caleb Neeper


Caleb's first taste of yoga came a little over a decade ago. Playing in a pick-up basketball game, he severely sprained his left knee. The initial goal was to rehabilitate the knee through yoga. Slowly, over a consistent period of time, his body began to heal. The knee strengthened, and he also began to experience some additional, unintended positive side-effects from practicing yoga - weight loss, a gain in overall physical strength, increased range of motion, flexibility, and a general boost in self-confidence and mood.

His initial therapeutic goal became secondary, as he started to realize the deep and profound affects that practicing yoga was and is currently having on his life. He began to understand more about himself, his relationships to others and his place in the world. With this new-found clarity, he decided to switch careers from selling wine to teaching yoga! He relocated from Sonoma County back to the Bay Area in pursuit of this career change. Caleb has completed 500 hours of teacher training through YogaWorks in Walnut Creek and SF, and has been mentored by Lakshmi Norwood.

 

This is a class designed for beginners. Learn correct alignment, setting up a posture or asana from the ground up. Coupled with this, you will learn to encourage one of the most powerful tools for a yoga practitioner, the breath! Hatha can be translated to ha meaning sun and tha meaning the moon. This refers to the balance of the masculine aspect (sun, active, hot) and feminine aspect (moon, receptive, cool) that resides in all of us. Balance is the key between strength and flexibility, the effort and the comfortable quality that is held in each and every yoga pose.

Upcoming classes:

  • Thu Oct 25 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Caleb Neeper
  • Thu Nov 01 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Caleb Neeper
  • Thu Nov 08 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Caleb Neeper
  • Thu Nov 15 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Caleb Neeper
  • Thu Nov 22 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Caleb Neeper
  • Thu Nov 29 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Caleb Neeper
  • Thu Dec 06 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Caleb Neeper
  • Thu Dec 13 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Caleb Neeper
  • Thu Dec 20 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Caleb Neeper
  • Thu Dec 27 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Caleb Neeper
  • Thu Jan 03 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Caleb Neeper
  • Thu Jan 10 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Caleb Neeper
  • Thu Jan 17 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Caleb Neeper
  • Thu Jan 24 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Caleb Neeper
  • Thu Jan 31 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Caleb Neeper
  • Thu Feb 07 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Caleb Neeper
  • Thu Feb 14 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Caleb Neeper
  • Thu Feb 21 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Caleb Neeper